Hillsong win big at 45th Dove Awards

JD of Hillsong United accepts one of the five trophies the group received during the 45th annual Dove Awards
The band was named Artist of the Year, and its song Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) was voted Song of the Year. 
Hillsong United, a worship band at Australia’s Hillsong Church, was the big winner at the Gospel Music Association’s 45th annual Dove Awards Oct. 7. The band was named Artist of the Year and its song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” received awards for Song of the Year, Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year, Pop/Contemporary Song of the Year and Worship Song of the Year. The song has been at or near the top of the Christian charts for more than a year.

Switchfoot received awards for Rock/Contemporary Song of the Year and Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year, and Skillet took home Doves for Rock Song of the Year and Rock Album of the Year. Worship artist Chris Tomlin was named Songwriter of the Year and popular independent artist Ellie Holcomb was named New Artist of the Year.
For the second year in a row, the awards were held at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville. The show, featuring performances by Mercy Me, Natalie Grant, For King & Country, Karen Peck & New River, Mandisa and many others, was recorded and will be broadcast worldwide Sunday, Oct. 12, on TBN.
Performers for the evening included the Newsboys, Erica Campbell & Lecrae, Hezekiah Walker, MercyMe, Tye Tribbett, Danny Gokey, for KING & COUNTRY, Natalie Grant, Mandisa and many more.
In a surprise presentation, Mercy Me was recognized for the certified double platinum status of their song “I Can Only Imagine.” It is the first gospel song ever to reach 2 million digital downloads.
Hillsong United band member Jonathan Douglass (known as JD) made several trips to the microphone to accept each of the band’s awards.
“We started writing songs for our high school friends in our suburbs,” Douglass said, according to AP, “songs that were our expressions to glorify Jesus.”
Hillsong Church also received the GMA’s annual Lifetime Achievement Award for its 20-year contribution to church music and the gospel music industry. The Sydney megachurch was founded in 1983 and has grown to include campuses across Australia and on several continents. Recordings produced by the church’s various praise bands have sold millions of copies, and many of the church’s original songs have become staples in churches around the world such as “Shout to the Lord,” “The Power of Your Love,” “Mighty to Save” and “Oceans,” to name just a few.
Below is the full list of the Dove Awards  winners
Song of the Year-Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)–Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing/EMICMGPublishing.com
Songwriter of the Year-Chris Tomlin
Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year-Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)-Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music/Sparrow Records, (producer) Michael Guy Chislett
Southern Gospel Performance of the Year-Say Amen- Brian Free & Assurance, Daywind Records, (producer) Ricky Free
Gospel Performance of the Year-I Can Only Imagine-Tamela Mann, TillyMann Music Group, (producer) Myron Butler
Artist of the Year Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music
New Artist of the Year – Ellie Holcomb, Full Heart
Producer of the Year– Ed Cash
Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year-100 – KB (ft. Andy Mineo), (writers) Kevin Burgess, Andy Mineo, Lasanna “ACE” Harris, Joseph Prielozny
Rock Song of the Year –Not Gonna Die” – Skillet, (writers) John Cooper, Korey Cooper
Rock/Contemporary Song of the Year-Love Alone Is Worth The Fight –Switchfoot, (writers) Jon Foreman, Tim Foreman
Pop/Contemporary Song of the Year-Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)–Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm
Inspirational Song of the Year -You Amaze Us – Selah, (writers) Jordan Mohilowski, Matthew Adcox, Douglas Fowler
Southern Gospel Song of the Year –“Revival” – Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Kenna Turner West, Karen Peck Gooch, Don Poythress
Bluegrass Song of the Year – Won’t It Be Wonderful There – Dailey & Vincent, (writer) Mildred Johnson
Country Song of the Year-Love With Open Arms – Doug Anderson (writers) Jeff Bumgardner, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey
Contemporary Gospel/Urban Song of the Year–Every Praise-Hezekiah Walker, (writer) David Bratton, Hezekiah Walker
Traditional Gospel Song of the Year –“A Little More Jesus” – Erica Campbell, (writers) Erica Campbell, Tina Campbell, Warryn Campbell
Worship Song of the Year – Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) –Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing/EMICMGPublishing.com
Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year – Never Land – Andy Mineo, (producers)
Joseph Prielozny, Alex Medina,Tyshane Thompson, Gabriel Azucena,Ray Castro, Dre Garcia, Alex Hitchens, Courtney Peebles
Rock Album of the Year – Rise – Skillet, (producer) Howard Benson
Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year – Fading West – Switchfoot, (producers) Neal Avron, the Foreman Brothers
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year-Overcomer – Mandisa, (producers) David Garcia, Christopher Stevens, Chuck Butler, Ronald Rawls
Inspirational Album of the Year –Hymns – Michael W. Smith, (producers) Kyle Lee, Jim Daneker
Southern Gospel Album of the Year –Oh What a Savior – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (producer) Wayne Haun
Bluegrass Album of the Year – Every Mile – Nathan Stanley,(producers) Terry Thompson, Nathan Stanley, Rhonda Thompson
Country Album of the Year – Drive – Doug Anderson, (producer) Wayne Haun
Contemporary/Gospel Urban Album of the Year-Greater Than – Tye Tribbett, (producers) Tye Tribbett, Brandon Jones
Traditional Gospel Album of the Year – Duets – Donnie McClurkin, (producers) Donnie McClurkin, Asaph A. Ward,Aaron W. Lindsey, Trent Phillips, Justin Savage, Israel Houghton
Instrumental Album of the Year – …to kids from 1 to 92 – Tracey Phillips, (producer) Tracey Phillips
Children’s Music Album of the Year –25 Favorite Bible Songs – Veggie Tales, (producers) Mike Nawrocki, Kurt Heinecke, Christopher Davis, Steven V.
Spanish Language Album of the Year -Aviva – Soulfire Revolution, (producers) Jeremy Edwardson, Jonathan Berlin
Special Event Album of the Year –Cathedrals Family Reunion – Gerald Wolfe, Ernie Haase, Danny Funderburk,Scott Fowler, Mark Trammell, (producers) Wayne Haun, Landon Beene, Gerald Wolfe and Ernie Haase
Christmas Album of the Year – Christmas Is Here – Brandon Heath, (producer) Ben Shive
Praise and Worship Album of the Year – Majestic – Kari Jobe (producer) Jeremy Edwardson
Musical of the Year – Highest Glory, (creator) Marty Funderburk
Youth/Children’s Musical of the Year-God Made You Special – A Musical about God’s Love…and You! (creators) Cherry Garasi, Pamela Vandewalker
Choral Collection of the Year – Everlasting Praise 4, (creators) Mike Speck, Stan Whitmire
Recorded Music Packaging of the Year -The Extremist – Demon Hunter, (art director) Invisible Creature, Inc., (design) Ryan Clark (photography) Cale Glendening, Ryan Clark
Short Form Video of the Year – Shake – Mercy Me, (director) Joel Banta, (producer) Joel Banta, Bilby Films
Long Form Video of the Year – Fading West – Switchfoot, (director) Matt Katsolis, (producers) Chad Butler, Paul Kerby, Interpret Studios,
Lowercase People
Inspirational Film of the Year – God’s Not Dead, (director) Harold Cronk, (producer) Pure Flix Entertainment
For a complete list of winners, go to doveawards.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.